A Downpour of His Presence

Growing up with only sisters in the house did little to prepare me for a household of boys in my own adult world. When my first son was born, we lived near my mother, who tried to kept us in fresh dresses and bows.

When my oldest son was a toddler, I took great pleasure in letting him play in the puddles of the rainwater leftover from a summer’s afternoon downpour. Scan_20150619 (26)

When my mother came over and saw him in the water and mud, her first reaction was, “Didn’t you just give him a bath?” I replied, “How many times do you really get to play in the mud puddles?”

She laughed. “Yes, enjoy it because they grow up too fast.”

I am thankful for the times I remember to take the opportunity life gives and live in the moment.

There are seasons in my life when I really didn’t do that. I enjoy remembering the moments when I took the time to let my son splash in the mud puddles.

Sometimes life gets messy. We can choose to avoid the mud puddles—or we can take a moment and experience the thrill of being God’s child—savoring in the adventure of something new after a downpour of God’s presence.

God’s voice thunders in marvelous ways; he does great things beyond our understanding. He says to the snow, “Fall on the earth,” and to the rain shower, “Be a mighty downpour.” (Job 36:5-6 NIV).

Take some time today to experience the remnants of his glorious presence today.

“Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.” ~John Ruskin

Leave a Reply

