Pour Out the Promise of Laughter

Have you ever been so tired that everything seemed funny? My husband, my mother and I traveled 16 hours by car across several states to visit family and attend a wedding. We like to drive through the night when there is less traffic on the road. This particular trip I didn’t sleep at all and as dawn broke, I contracted what my family calls “the sleepy sillies.”

pcb sunsetA thought, a memory of my step-dad crossed my mind, and I burst into uncontrollable laughter. My traveling companions tried to get me to share the reason I was laughing, and I tried. I really tried to share my memory, but I couldn’t contain the laughter long enough to spill the story.

Even though they didn’t know why I was laughing, they found the whole scene humorous. It took several minutes for me to tell enough of the story between laughs that they knew which story I remembered. Then, we laughed so hard our stomach muscles hurt, and tears of laughter escaped our eyes.

He will yet fill your mouth with laughter, and your lips with shouting (Job 8:21 ESV).

There are storms in our lives that bring stress and heartache. Times of laughter may seem far away during those rough seasons in our lives. Laughter can break the pain much like the sun breaks through the night.

An outburst of laugher—no matter the reason—can give you much needed relief. God promised to pour out laughter on us. Take some time in His presence today and ask Him for a dose of laughter, then expect Him to fill you with it today.

“Like a welcome summer rain,

humor may suddenly cleanse

and cool the earth, the air and you.”

~Langston Hughes

Leave a Reply

