Rain in Me Again!

I lived in the desert for nearly eight years, and there were only a few times of year we actually experienced rain. Monsoons are desert storms that pass quickly and dump a lot of rain. Growing up in Texas and Oklahoma, I learned to love the seasonal thunderstorms and warm summer rains.

Scan_20150619 (22)

During a Florida vacation, our family was thrilled to exit the airport terminal to find ourselves in the middle of a soft, gentle summer rain. I walked out into the rain and let it sprinkle me with that familiar feeling a southern summer downpour. I had no concerns about getting wet; but instead let the water fall on me and refresh my soul.

Throughout that week near the beach, we experienced rain at least twice a day. I needed a vacation physically—but even more so, my heart and soul hungered for time in the Lord’s presence.

I was ready for His presence to consume me and fill me like rain floods the dry and thirsty grooves in the earth.

In my quiet and alone moments, I sat listening to the washing of the waves across the shells and sand on the beach. His presence and peace consumed me. I closed my eyes and took a deep drink of His refreshing presence.

Those who have been ransomed by the LORD will return to Jerusalem, singing songs of everlasting joy. Sorrow and mourning will disappear, and they will be overcome with joy and gladness (Isaiah 34:10 NLT).

You don’t have to get away to another state to drink in His refreshment. You can sit or stand quietly anywhere and open your heart to Him. He is faithful to quench your thirst.

“The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful.”

~E. E. Cummings

Leave a Reply

